Friday, June 29, 2007

2007: Diana Jones Loves Greg Stafford

"The Diana Jones Award is given to whatever the Diana Jones Committee believes has best demonstrated ‘excellence in gaming’ in the previous year. This year the committee has shortlisted three potential winners. In alphabetical order, they are:

The Great Pendragon Campaign by Greg Stafford (White Wolf) In terms of sheer scope alone, Greg Stafford's Great Pendragon Campaign breaks new ground, presenting almost a century's worth of continuous story with gemlike clarity; in almost fractal fashion, any given year can become its own campaign. Its greatest structural successes are those of Stafford's Pendragon: a superbly compact yet never sketchy adventure format, seamless hard-wiring of characters into setting and continuity, and unprecedented emphasis on epic, generational storytelling. Thematically, it is a triumph of Arthurian art in its own right, the roleplaying form's equivalent of Tennyson's ‘The Idylls of the King’ or Wagner's ‘Parsifal’—a brilliant personal engagement with one of the foundation myths of Western fantasy."

Read more about it at the Diana Jones Award website.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?